Charged With A First-Time DWI Offense?

A first-time DWI arrest is a frightening event. You may be worried about your freedom to drive and go where you please. You may have concerns about your employer finding out about the arrest. Most of all, you don't want to spend any time in jail.

All of these are well-founded concerns. In Texas, the penalties for a first-time DWI offense are harsh. If convicted, you face:

  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • Jail time of between 3 and 180 days
  • Driver's license suspension of up to two years
  • Annual surcharge of up to $2,000 a year for three years

You may also be required to take an alcohol education course and have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.

As harsh as these penalties are, they are even harsher for those with prior DWIs on their record.

The Good News

There is hope for the accused. You are innocent until proven guilty in the eyes of the law. The defense lawyers at the Robert T. Jarvis Law Firm have extensive experience fighting DWI charges in Sherman, Fort Worth and surrounding areas in North Texas.

With Bob Jarvis and Matt Hamilton on your side, you can give yourself the best possible chance of putting this charge behind you and getting on with your life. With more than 35 years of combined experience in criminal law, attorneys Jarvis and Hamilton know how to fight DWI charges and know how to win.

Get Started Today

It may be tempting to put this matter off or simply plead out to put it behind you, but that is likely the wrong call for your future. The more proactive you are in building your defense, the better your chances of obtaining a favorable outcome.

Call the Robert T. Jarvis Law Firm today at 903-892-8500 or 817-502-1919 or contact the firm online to get started building a strong, effective defense against your drunk driving charges.